Quotations and Literature Forum

It is currently Tue Jul 29, 2014 8:01 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 1:27 pm 
QuoteMaster
QuoteMaster

Aside from those who haven't reached that point in their education, who haven't graduated college yet, etc.

Who here simply does not have a college degree, via Drop-out, or Not Going?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 2:31 pm 
QuoteMaster
QuoteMaster

I had a long, varied and interesting life without a degree. It's a changing world however, and paper is respected over ability, so at 43 I went to uni.

As a coach I was mentored by the national, Olympic team and most senior coach in the country. Thanks to the uni system convincing the world it's the only standard worth having, in academic worlds a first year student is more valued.
Stop fucking whinging and GO, looking for excuses on the internet is bordering on the pathetic Thomas, and I like to think you are better that this.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 7:46 pm 
QuoteMaster
QuoteMaster

Although you accuse me of whining and looking for excuses on the internet, which is an opinion I do respect (hey, respect your elders or kiss your ass goodbye), not going is still my first choice as of now. I didn't think I'd be seen as inadequate, however. But such is life.

Why don't you give me the benefits of having a degree and I'll give you my reasons? Or perhaps you could relate as to what your life was like without it?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:22 pm 
QuoteMaster
QuoteMaster

I have over 28 years experience competing and coaching in weightlifting and powerlifting. Lots of experience and knowledge I acquired from reading, experimenting and working with truly knowledgeable people. To get any of this acknowledged I had to get a degree, to be considered employable I probably should have gone on the Phd. We now live in a world where qualification is more valuable than practical experience.