Quotations and Literature Forum

It is currently Sat Apr 19, 2014 5:59 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 2:07 pm 

hey guys, I'm not very experienced but I'm looking for something to motivate me.

Quote:
Each painting has its own way of evolving...When the painting is finished, the subject reaveals itself.

that quote is so interesting to me for some reason. however I don't quite understand it.

can someone help me re-word it or something? what does it mean?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 3:37 pm 
QuoteMaster
QuoteMaster

Sometimes when you write something, or paint something, you end up with a finished product that is nothing like what you had in mind, but at the end, the subject of the painting is still clear, even if it isn't what you thought it would be.

Take, for instance, a painting of a flower, you begin with the flower, and a back ground, but something seems missing, so you add a bee on the flower, and then you spend so much time on the bee that it seems real, it has become the focus of the painting, and the flower is a back ground, the painting evolved as you worked, and now when you step back to look at the end result, the subject that changed shows itself to you.

If that made any sense please let me know.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 9:41 am 
QuoteMaster
QuoteMaster

"The moment you think you understand a great work of art, its dead for you." Oscar Wilde

Libra.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:04 pm